Kindness of strangers

I checked out of the clinic at 5:30am on Thursday morning and headed to the airport at 7am.  I was nervous about how my body would react, but it held up pretty well considering the circumstances.  I was also nervous because I was headed out to travel on my own in Bolivia and I hadn’t booked anything in advance.

I happened to start talking to a Dutch girl (AnneMarie) behind me in the security line who had been living in La Paz for the past 3 months.  When we arrived in La Paz, AnneMarie waited for me and we shared a taxi with a Swiss couple into the center of town.  Then she showed me where she booked her Salar de Uyuni tour, and since I liked the looks of the place, I ended up booking my tour and overnight buses there as well.  The bus didn’t leave until 7pm that evening, so I had the whole afternoon to spare.  We had lunch and she let me drop my huge bag off at her place so that we could walk around without so much baggage.  She showed me around the central area of the city and then I caught a taxi to the bus station that evening.

I was so touched by the kindness that she showed me that day – it was exactly what I needed.  I wasn’t feeling 100% and I was just totally lost in the huge city of La Paz, without a clue where to start.  That is one of my favorite things about travelling.  You meet really sincere, and likeminded people.  Even when you travel solo, you are never alone for long.  I had always heard that and it was nice to experience it first hand 🙂

Leave a comment